ESCAPE RAPIDO DE SITIO

Calendario

Abril

Día (s)
17

Development Marketplace 2018: Innovations in Addressing Gender- Based Violence

The World Bank Group and Sexual Violence Research Initiative is awarding 11 teams from around the world with funds to support evidence-based research and innovation to help address the global epidemic of gender-based violence. More than 35 percent of women worldwide have experienced physical or sexual partner violence or non-partner sexual violence. Violence experienced by women and girls is an obstacle to development gains, as it impedes their full participation in society, limits access to education and economic participation, and hinders efforts to achieve gender equality. Award winners will share their motivations in developing prevention and response interventions and testing their effectiveness, growing the evidence base from which the World Bank can incorporate tested programs into its development work.

April 17, 2018 | 16:00 to 17:00 ET, 20:00 to 21:00 GMT

Preston Auditorium, World Bank Group Headquarters

Local: Preston Auditorium, World Bank Group Headquarters
Fecha: Apr/17/2018
Visita el sitio
Día (s)
27

Webinar: Under the Radar: Prosecuting Intimate Partner Sexual Violence

April 27, 2018 - 11:00am PT, 12:00pm MT, 1:00pm CT, 2:00pm ET

The majority of sexual violence victims know their assailants, a fact that can greatly affect and complicate the reactions that victims experience during and after an assault. Sexual violence perpetrated by an intimate partner presents further complexities, in that the victim may have complex feelings for the offender, may seek a continued relationship with the offender due to those feelings, and may also rely on the perpetrator as a parent and the provider of financial or other support. Intimate partner sexual violence usually co-occurs with other forms of physical and psychological violence and may indicate a greater lethality risk than with other victims of sexual violence. Furthermore, issues such as sexual exploitation or gang involvement may present additional challenges in addressing victim safety and offender accountability. Criminal justice, advocacy, and health care professionals must consider these issues as they seek to create a victim-centered response. In order for communities to more effectively respond to victims of intimate partner sexual violence, it is critical that they are able to: (1) recognize intimate partner sexual violence and its common dynamics; (2) understand its prevalence and seriousness; (3) identify its perpetrators and victims; (4) accept victim behaviors which may appear counterintuitive; (5) understand the typical progression of a case through the criminal justice system; and (6) prepare for the common legal issues surrounding a medical professional’s testimony as a fact or expert witness. This presentation will describe the common dynamics, prevalence, perpetrators, and victims of intimate partner sexual assault; examine ways in which allied professionals may need to expand their practices to adequately and holistically care for these victims; and summarize the legal issues relevant to the prosecution of intimate partner sexual violence.

Fecha: Apr/27/2018
Visita el sitio
domlunmarmiéjueviesáb
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
domlunmarmiéjueviesáb
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031